ERC Faculty

All faculty members appointed in UC San Diego undergraduate departments are affiliated with one of the six undergraduate colleges. Eleanor Roosevelt College faculty members represent all of the academic divisions at UC San Diego. The faculty is represented by an elected Chair of the Faculty and Executive Committee that advise the Provost, take action on academic policies and other matters of concern to the faculty, and appoint other faculty committees as needed.

Faculty Representatives

ERC Executive Committee

  • Ivan Evans, Provost
  • Sarah Spear-Barrett, Dean of Academic Advising
  • Patricia Scott, Dean of Student Affairs
  • Charles Tu, Professor of ECE 
  • Nicholas Christenfeld, Professor of Psychology
  • Nancy Postero, Associate Professor of Anthropology
  • Kaustuv Roy, Professor of Biological Sciences

Academic Senate Representative Assembly - ERC Representatives

  • Prof. Gershon Shafir (Sociology)  
  • Assoc. Prof. Babak Rahimi (Literature) 

Faculty Listing by Department

Guillermo Algaze Anthropology galgaze@ucsd.edu
Joseph Hankins Anthropology jdhankins@ucsd.edu
John Haviland Anthropology jhaviland@ucsd.edu
Byung Chu Kang Anthropology
Steven Parish Anthropology sparish@ucsd.edu
Dena Plemmons Anthropology dplemmons@ucsd.edu
Nancy Postero Anthropology npostero@ucsd.edu
Margaret Schoeninger Anthropology mjschoen@ucsd.edu
Karen Christman Bioengineering kchristman@ucsd.edu
Adam Engler Bioengineering aengler@ucsd.edu
Stephanie Fraley Bioengineering sifraley@ucsd.edu
Prashant Mali Bioengineering pmali@ucsd.edu
Joshua Rychak Bioengineering jrychak@ucsd.edu
Shankar Subramaniam Bioengineering shsubramaniam@ucsd.edu
Janelle Ayres Cell & Developmental Biology jsayres@ucsd.edu
Andrew Chisholm Cell & Developmental Biology adchisholm@ucsd.edu
Joanne Chory Cell & Developmental Biology jchory@ucsd.edu
Amy Kiger Cell & Developmental Biology akiger@ucsd.edu
Eric Schmelz Cell & Developmental Biology eschmelz@ucsd.edu
Laurie Smith Cell & Developmental Biology lgsmith@ucsd.edu
Timothy Baker Chemistry & Biochemistry tsb@ucsd.edu
Neal Devaraj Chemistry & Biochemistry ndevaraj@ucsd.edu
Michael Galperin Chemistry & Biochemistry migalperin@ucsd.edu
Partho Ghosh Chemistry & Biochemistry pghosh@ucsd.edu
Patricia Jennings Chemistry & Biochemistry pajennings@ucsd.edu
Simpson Joseph Chemistry & Biochemistry sjoseph@ucsd.edu
Elizabeth Komives Chemistry & Biochemistry ekomives@ucsd.edu
Susan Taylor Chemistry & Biochemistry staylor@ucsd.edu
Roy Wollman Chemistry & Biochemistry rwollman@ucsd.edu
Joel Yuen Zhou Chemistry & Biochemistry jyuenzhou@ucsd.edu
Virginia De sa Cognitive Science desa@ucsd.edu
Eran Mukamel Cognitive Science emukamel@ucsd.edu
Jaime Pineda Cognitive Science jpineda@ucsd.edu
Angela Yu Cognitive Science aiyu@ucsd.edu
Zeinabu Davis Communication zdavis@ucsd.edu
Jay Lemke Communication jalemke@ucsd.edu
Kamalika Chaudhuri Computer Science & Engineering kchaudhuri@ucsd.edu
Sanjoy Dasgupta Computer Science & Engineering sadasgupta@ucsd.edu
Yoav Freund Computer Science & Engineering yfreund@ucsd.edu
Ranjit Jhala Computer Science & Engineering rjhala@ucsd.edu
Sorin Lerner Computer Science & Engineering lerner@ucsd.edu
Shachar Lovett Computer Science & Engineering slovett@ucsd.edu
Yannis Papakonstantinou Computer Science & Engineering ypapakonstantinou@ucsd.edu
Tajana Rosing Computer Science & Engineering trosing@ucsd.edu
Larry Smarr Computer Science & Engineering lsmarr@ucsd.edu
Alex Snoeren Computer Science & Engineering asnoeren@ucsd.edu
Scott Rifkin Ecology, Behavior & Evolution sarifkin@ucsd.edu
Kaustuv Roy Ecology, Behavior & Evolution kroy@ucsd.edu
David Western Ecology, Behavior & Evolution dwestern@africaonline.co.ke
Prashant Bharadwaj Economics prbharadwaj@ucsd.edu
Jeffrey Clemens Economics j1clemens@ucsd.edu
Itzik Fadlon Economics fadlon@ucsd.edu
Marjorie Flavin Economics mflavin@ucsd.edu
James Hamilton Economics jhamilton@ucsd.edu
David Lagakos Economics dlagakos@ucsd.edu
Yixiao Sun Economics yisun@ucsd.edu
Michelle White Economics miwhite@ucsd.edu
Sherice Clarke Education Studies Program snclarke@ucsd.edu
Shana Cohen Education Studies Program src004@ucsd.edu
Nikolay Atanasov Electrical & Computer Engineering natanasov@ucsd.edu
James Buckwalter Electrical & Computer Engineering jfbuckwalter@ucsd.edu
Massimo Franceschetti Electrical & Computer Engineering mfranceschetti@ucsd.edu
Bill Lin Electrical & Computer Engineering billlin@ucsd.edu
Paul Siegel Electrical & Computer Engineering psiegel@ucsd.edu
Charles Tu Electrical & Computer Engineering ctu@ucsd.edu
Nuno Vasconcelos Electrical & Computer Engineering nvasconcelos@ucsd.edu
Kenneth Zeger Electrical & Computer Engineering zeger@ucsd.edu
Shelley Streeby Ethnic Studies sstreeby@ucsd.edu

GPS

Peter Cowhey GPS pcowhey@ucsd.edu
Barry Naughton GPS bnaughton@ucsd.edu
Yasu-hiko Tohsaku GPS ytohsaku@ucsd.edu
Suzanne Cahill History scahill@ucsd.edu
Samuel Cha History sxcha@ucsd.edu
Jessica Graham History jlgraham@ucsd.edu
Qian He History qhe@ucsd.edu
Judith Hughes History jhughes@ucsd.edu
Hasan Kayali History hkayali@ucsd.edu
Dana Murillo History dvmurillo@ucsd.edu
Patrick Patterson History p1patterson@ucsd.edu
Jeremy Prestholdt History jprestholdt@ucsd.edu
Pamela Radcliff History pradcliff@ucsd.edu
Alana Shuster History ashuster@ucsd.edu
Ulrike Strasser History ustrasser@ucsd.edu
Gabriela Caballero Hernandez Linguistics gcaballero@ucsd.edu
Sharon Rose Linguistics sxrose@ucsd.edu
Steven Cassedy Literature scassedy@ucsd.edu
Gloria Chacon Literature gchacon@ucsd.edu
Richard Cohen Literature rscohen@ucsd.edu
Adriana De marchi gherini Literature demarchi@ucsd.edu
Leslie Edwards Literature lcedwards@ucsd.edu
Melvyn Freilicher Literature melfrei@ucsd.edu
John Granger Literature jgranger@ucsd.edu
Ping-hui Liao Literature piliao@ucsd.edu
Beatrice Pita Literature bpita@ucsd.edu
Catherine Ploye Literature cploye@ucsd.edu
Stephen Potts Literature swpotts@ucsd.edu
Babak Rahimi Literature brahimi@ucsd.edu
Cristina Rivera-Garza Literature criveragarza@ucsd.edu
Kathryn Walkiewicz Literature kwalkiewicz@ucsd.edu
Patricia Wells Literature prwells@ucsd.edu
Oumelbanine Zhiri Literature ozhiri@ucsd.edu
Li-tien Cheng Mathematics l3cheng@ucsd.edu
Peter Ebenfelt Mathematics pebenfelt@ucsd.edu
Amir Mohammadi Mathematics ammohammadi@ucsd.edu
Dragos Oprea Mathematics doprea@ucsd.edu
Dimitris Politis Mathematics dpolitis@ucsd.edu
Alireza Saleh Golsefidy Mathematics asalehigolsefidy@ucsd.edu
Jason Schweinsberg Mathematics jschweinsberg@ucsd.edu
Sonia Martinez Diaz Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering somartinezdiaz@ucsd.edu
Vitali Nesterenko Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering vnesterenko@ucsd.edu
Padmini Rangamani Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering prangamani@ucsd.edu
Antonio Sanchez Perez Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering alsp@ucsd.edu
Michael Tolley Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering mttolley@ucsd.edu
Yuyan Shi Medicine yus001@ucsd.edu
Jean Wang Medicine jywang@ucsd.edu
Ronghui Xu Medicine rxu@ucsd.edu
Aaron Coleman Molecular Biology abcoleman@ucsd.edu
Susan Golden Molecular Biology sgolden@ucsd.edu
Maho Niwa Rosen Molecular Biology mniwarosen@ucsd.edu
Nancy Guy Music nguy@ucsd.edu
Philip Larson Music plarson@ucsd.edu
Jann Pasler Music jpasler@ucsd.edu
Chinary Ung Music c1ung@ucsd.edu
Gaurav Arya Nanoengineering garya@ucsd.edu
Kenneth Vecchio Nanoengineering kvecchio@ucsd.edu
Nicola Allen Neurobiology njallen@ucsd.edu
Ralph Greenspan Neurobiology rgreenspan@ucsd.edu
Takaki Komiyama Neurobiology tkomiyama@ucsd.edu
Byungkook Lim Neurobiology byl015@ucsd.edu
Kit Pogliano Neurobiology kpogliano@ucsd.edu
Cory Root Neurobiology cmroot@ucsd.edu
Jing Wang Neurobiology jw800@ucsd.edu
Dong-er Zhang Pathology d7zhang@ucsd.edu
Nancy Cartwright Philosophy ncartwright@ucsd.edu
Dana Nelkin Philosophy dnelkin@ucsd.edu
Manuel Vargas Philosophy mrvargas@ucsd.edu
Massimiliano Di ventra Physics diventra@ucsd.edu
George Fuller Physics gfuller@ucsd.edu
Suckjoon Jun Physics s2jun@ucsd.edu
Dusan Keres Physics dukeres@ucsd.edu
Elena (Lena) Koslover Physics ekoslover@ucsd.edu
Hans Paar Physics hpaar@ucsd.edu
Douglas Smith Physics des@ucsd.edu
Claire Adida Political Science cadida@ucsd.edu
Maureen Feeley Political Science mfeeley@ucsd.edu
Alan Houston Political Science ahouston@ucsd.edu
Philip Roeder Political Science proeder@ucsd.edu
Branislav Slantchev Political Science bslantchev@ucsd.edu
Kaare Strom Political Science kstrom@ucsd.edu
David Wiens Political Science dwiens@ucsd.edu
Tak Wong Political Science tkw005@ucsd.edu
Leslie Carver Psychology ljcarver@ucsd.edu
Nicholas Christenfeld Psychology nchristenfeld@ucsd.edu
Michael Gorman Psychology mgorman@ucsd.edu
Timothy Rickard Psychology trickard@ucsd.edu
Aubyn Stahmer Psychology astahmer@ucsd.edu
Edmond Chang Roosevelt College e6chang@ucsd.edu
Matthew Herbst Roosevelt College mtherbst@ucsd.edu
Richard Biernacki Sociology rbiernac@ucsd.edu
John Evans Sociology jhevans@ucsd.edu
Ivan Evans Sociology ievans@ucsd.edu
David Fitzgerald Sociology dsfitzgerald@ucsd.edu
Jeffrey Haydu Sociology jhaydu@ucsd.edu
Martha Lampland Sociology mlampland@ucsd.edu
Andrew Scull Sociology ascull@ucsd.edu
Gershon Shafir Sociology gshafir@ucsd.edu
Christena Turner Sociology chturner@ucsd.edu
Leon Zamosc Sociology lzamosc@ucsd.edu
Ahmed-waeil Elgamal Structural Engineering aelgamal@ucsd.edu
Francesco Lanza Di Scalea Structural Engineering flanzadiscalea@ucsd.edu
Nadine George Theatre & Dance ngeorge@ucsd.edu
Victoria Petrovich Theatre & Dance vpetrovich@ucsd.edu
Lisa Porter Theatre & Dance ljporter@ucsd.edu
Patricia Rincon . Theatre & Dance princon@ucsd.edu
Kim Rubinstein Theatre & Dance krubinstein@ucsd.edu
Grant Kester Visual Arts gkester@ucsd.edu
Ruben Ortiz Visual Arts ruortiz@ucsd.edu
Kuiyi Shen Visual Arts kshen@ucsd.edu
Mariana Wardwell Visual Arts mwardwell@ucsd.edu